German Shepherds Forum banner

BARF Diet Newbie Help

2K views 7 replies 7 participants last post by  onyx'girl 
#1 ·
Hi everyone,

Frequent reader of this forum, but this is my first time ever posting something - so bear with me.

My girlfriend and I got out GSD Rory back in September 2015. It is our first dog and we absolutely love her to death. With that being said, we wanted to feed her the best food out there (unfortunately, also the most expensive). We bought Orijen - which I will say is wonderful dog food if you are willing to dish out $85-$95 for a 28.6-lb bag.

For us, that price tag was way too high after months of feeding her. I wanted to get something different for her, but no lose all the benefits of a high-end dog food. After all my research, that just cannot be done with dry food. But I began to read about the BARF diet and fell in love with it. I already liked putting together meals for her, so the transition of the time and effort required for a BARF diet was a piece of cake.

We have been on the BARF diet for roughly a month now. I am currently feeding her once a day. At her servings, I will give her two chicken backs/thighs, a mix of either chicken liver, chicken heart, chicken gizzards, or beef liver (so far). I will also toss in a fruit or vegetable of the day (apple, banana, carrot), as well as one to two eggs. I will also occasionally mix in some peanut butter.

For the first couple of weeks, I could not be happier with her poops. As a proud dog owner now, I am fascinated with what comes out. Instead of large, smelly poops when she was eating kibble, it is now only a couple of hard, balled-up "rabbit poops" that don't smell like a thing.