German Shepherds Forum banner

If you had to choose just a few things:

3K views 12 replies 6 participants last post by  GoSailGo 
#1 ·
What do you feel are the most important raw meats/organs/etc for your dog? The only freezer space I have is the little fridge freezer, so I can have a few things but I can't buy in huge bulk/variety. Buying a separate freezer isn't an option for me either. I'm planning on feeding Blue Buffalo Wilderness Puppy, which is what the breeder is already feeding. I would love to supplement my puppy's diet as much as possible with raw, but I don't think I can be overly extravagant. Fish? Green tripe? I'm very new to this. :)

#2 ·
Green tripe hands down.
It can be fed exclusively and will provide a balanced nutritious diet. Many people who have dogs with renal issues feed tripe as it is so beneficial.
Is there a local meat processor that makes up a dog food grind? Or someone that does venison?

#3 ·
Green tripe hands down.
It can be fed exclusively and will provide a balanced nutritious diet. Many people who have dogs with renal issues feed tripe as it is so beneficial.
Is there a local meat processor that makes up a dog food grind? Or someone that does venison?
Where am I most likely to find green tripe? I've never even seen it before. The only reason I know it exists is because of this forum.

I'm not sure about the local meat processor. The vet clinic I chose seems to advocate raw food diets so I'll ask them.

#5 · (Edited)
#6 ·
Tripe for human consumption is bleached and cleaned; it isn't worth feeding your dog. It's the stinky green tripe that you won't find in the grocery store that you want to buy. Only place I've found it locally is canned at the pet store. I would feed some kind of fish or grass fed meat for omegas along with green tripe. Occasional organs wouldn't hurt, especially liver. Maybe raw chewies like knuckle bones.

#7 ·