Feeding raw and kibble together - German Shepherd Dog Forums

Increase font size: 0, 10, 25, 50%

GermanShepherds.com is the premier German Shepherd Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-26-2011, 11:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Member

Default Feeding raw and kibble together

I have been feeding my dogs raw for over 6 months now, but I don't think I'll be able to afford feeding 3 dogs like this. Plus I don't think I can find a good variety of proteins as I would want.

I've been thinking of looking for a decent quality kibble (I've heard good things about 4health) and somehow feed both.

Those of you who feed kibble and raw, how do you do it? Do you feed raw a.m. and kibble p.m. or viceversa? One day kibble, one day raw? One week kibble, one week raw? Or just alternate randomly?

How often do you switch to another kind of kibble? When introducing a new kibble do you also do it little by little like you do when feeding kibble only, or do you just do it "cold turkey"?

Thanks in advance for any help or advice!
Dejavu is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-26-2011, 11:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Member

One day kibble, one day raw, shouldn't cause any problems, aside from the dog possibly rejecting kibble. That's variable by dog, though. Mine doesn't care what you stick in her bowl. Some are picky. If that happens, in your situation, it might just be easiest to feed kibble exclusively.

It's mixing them in the same meal, or in feedings close together, that can cause gastro-issues.

Do you have a Costco near you? The new grain free food they're carrying is pretty decent. I like the ingredient list [it's a tad potato heavy], and it's super cheap.