Need Advice Badly - German Shepherd Dog Forums

Increase font size: 0, 10, 25, 50%

GermanShepherds.com is the premier German Shepherd Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-24-2014, 12:43 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Need Advice Badly

I am not a novice. I have had five German Shepherd Dogs in my lifetime. My current dog Marnie is proving to be a challenge though and one I am not sure I can tackle. She is seven months old now.

We got her when she was seven weeks old from a Hobby Breeder. She is a pure bred but we didn't get her papers. We met her mother and an older half brother. No signs of aggression.

From the second day we brought her home she was constantly mouthing. It never stopped. At first my sister who visits often and I just put it off to normal play biting.

We tried taking her to pre K puppy school. She was too scared of the other puppies and we ended up having to leave because she was too disruptive.

I tired all suggestions for dealing with the play biting. Yelling ouch, shaking penny can, hiding my hands, being the tree, etc. Nothing.

At one point I consulted a rescue organization as to whether I should surrender her because she doesn't show remorse when she hurts like my previous Shepherds had. They said they didn't feel she is aggressive just a very stubborn independent alpha female.

We decided to keep her and we went to a master trainer recommended by the rescue.

She too said dog is not aggressive just a very stubborn Alpha female. At one point she even did the alpha huff back to Melissa.

The trainer recommended a vibration collar. Unfortunately Marnie became collar smart right away. The minute its off she starts biting again.