Newly purchased GSD sometimes aggressive to my child - German Shepherd Dog Forums

Increase font size: 0, 10, 25, 50%

GermanShepherds.com is the premier German Shepherd Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-23-2012, 12:15 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default Newly purchased GSD sometimes aggressive to my child

Hi. I am new to the GSD community and I am glad that I found you all. I have a question, we recently purchased a 1 1/2 year old male GSD. He is a good dog....most of the time. The lady I purchased him from said that he was good with children. I have a 5 yr old son. Most of the time Niko is good with him, but my son is timid of him because he is so BIG and a couple of times usually when he is laying in front of the door when my son tries to go into the bedroom beside the door he will get up and go towards my son and growl at him. Needless to say this is making me VERY nervous!! I am not sure what to do. Please any suggestions would be appreciated.
Thank you
lashon8 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-23-2012, 12:17 AM   #2 (permalink)
Zombie Queen Moderator

I think it should make you very nervous. I will leave others to give advice but I think I would not be keeping this dog for one minute if he is growling at a child. The child must come first.

Beau -NAPWDA Certified Cadaver Dog
Waiting at the Bridge (italics=GSDs) (hemangiosarcoma=blue):Grim , Cyra, Toby, Rainbow, Linus, Oscar, Arlo & Waggles
jocoyn is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-23-2012, 01:15 AM   #3 (permalink)
Crowned Member

Someone lied to you.

A GSD should not be growling at a 5 year old and I would not trust this dog with your child.

Nothing is as simple as it seems or as complicated as we make it~

Attitude is everything -- Pick a good one!
Sofie AKA Ussina vom Haus Brezel
Jack von Jagenstadt
Tatty - Burmese bad cat