German Shepherds Forum banner

Theoretical parallel discussion on dog biting from another thread

14K views 124 replies 30 participants last post by  4TheDawgies 
#1 ·
I am not an expert in dog behaviour, but I will post to offer a 'general public/dog appreciator' opinion. To me, once a dog bites a human, that dog is and should be at high risk of being put down.

If you are willing to do the work to train her, she may be able to be rehabilitated. (We had a dog who was a fear biter when I was a child, and with a behaviourist he was rehabilitated and never bit again, after biting me twice and a neighbour girl once). I know it's possible.

But. If you don't have it in you, that is fair enough. I'm surprised to see so many guilting responses here, honestly. The dog bit somebody with no objective provocation and no warning. Choosing to work with that is a risky decision. Choosing to give the dog back to the rescue, or euthanize, in everywhere but internet-land will be considered a very sane choice to make.

#3 ·
My thoughts exactly. My mother's lab mix becomes defensive when strangers wave stuff by his head... We have always just warned people and ensured his comfort around new people by having them play fetch with a tennis ball.

#4 ·
Yes I understand that.

But realistically, in this world, there will be strangers walking by with sticks or hats or whatever random object scares the dog. Dogs are domestic animals and need to be able to operate safely in society.

Fear aggression is a difficult thing to work with. People here are saying you have to manage the dog for the rest of its life, most of the time. That is a huge undertaking, a lifestyle adjustment and an enormous liability, and it's okay not to want to do that.