German Shepherds Forum banner

Sit Means Sit training/collar

7K views 42 replies 19 participants last post by  Germanshepherdlove 
#1 ·
Just went and had a consult with them, it was pretty cool. Anyone ever done training with them?

You basically buy a package, which is pricey, but you get the collar with a life time guarantee and free classes for life.

They said they want you to wean the dog off the collar in 6 months. I felt it on my hand and it didn't hurt. It felt like the device they put on my shoulders at physical therapy.

Anyone have any thoughts on Sit Means Sit? I think I'm going to do it. The trainers seem awesome and their dogs on really good. They said that they will do payment plans, so that helps.

I have had no experience with any type of electronic collars before.

#2 ·
I had a friend (we are both military families) that when she bought her shock collars she made everyone of her family members put it on their neck to see what it felt like for the dog. Sorry if this is a little off your point, just reminded me when you said you tried it on your hand. I have no experience with them but I haven't had to either thankfully.

#6 ·
Yes. I used them. I would recommend them if anyone was insistent on e-collar training. It was a last resort for me. I tried to exhaust other options first. But it's an effective training tool as long as it's not abused. Meaning, do exactly what the trainer says. No exceptions. Ask questions.

It's an individual choice for the owner. Every dog is different. Yours may not even need this tool. I don't know, as I don't know your situation. I would not let others feelings persuade your decision as this topic gets very spirited on this board. You have to do what fits your situation.