German Shepherds Forum banner

Switching food...I think I made my descion

2K views 15 replies 7 participants last post by  Colie CVT 
#1 ·
So I have to switch Samsons food (another post) bc we moved. I think I have decided to rotate between Orijen adult and Acana regionals, bc even though he is a year old I think some others (Wellness Core, Merrick) have to high calcium/phosphorus levels. I have never done rotation before what is every ones recommendations. Also, right now he eats 7 cups of food a day of Fromms adult gold. I tried cutting back when he turned 1 last month but he lost a lot of weight fast (I brought him to vet and he was clean for parasites and worms). I wish I could afford all Orijen but I cant touch reginal red or 6- fish (the adult is top budget) So I don't want to feed him too much Orijen as I know that can make his stool soft but I am still trying to put weight back on him from him loosing so much. Thanks for the help. Sorry for repeating some of my last post but this is a different topic and I wanted to explain things.

#2 · (Edited)
7 cups of food?! That is A LOT. Have you had him checked for EPI?

I feed 4 cups of Wellness Core to my over the standard male 85-90 pound GSD a day and I feed 4 cups of Wellness Complete Health to my 60-65 pound Dalmatian puppy.

#3 ·
I will defiantly talk to vet about it. I looked at symptoms and he doesn't have any of those. He just went it for his annual checkup and she said he probably would slow down in the next few months. He is an active dog. We live on 2.6 acres with a large hill out front so he is constantly running up and down and all around. I am also hoping the higher protein in Orijen will help. He is doing 7 now bc I am trying to help him gain the weight he lost but he was on5.5 cups before I cut back. I probably shouldn't have increased that much but I felt bad bc he got so skinny. Think i will drop it down to 6 cups as he is almost back to his 75lb weight.

#4 ·