German Shepherd Dog Forums - View Single Post - Frustrated with GSD Rescue - SAD STORY :(
View Single Post
Old 04-20-2014, 01:11 AM   #1 (permalink)
Myah's Mom

Default Frustrated with GSD Rescue - SAD STORY :(

It has been two years since my first GSD rescue ended tragically. I still have his pictures (I took tons) and videos and look at them often, even though I have a beautiful girl from a breeder now.

My goal in telling this story is that maybe we can all learn something here - those thinking of rescue, and those closely involved with them. And I'd like to say, that even though I'm frustrated with some of the people and decisions, I did meet lots of great people and was blessed to see so many great dogs find homes.

Disclaimer: this is my opinion/perception of what happened.

Here it goes.

I've always been a dog lover, always had dogs. I'm a good amateur trainer and my dogs are loved and cared for until the very end. I have even puppy raised a service dog for two DVM's with a special needs child.

They were all large breed dogs, but never a GSD.

While recovering from an illness and surgery, I read a book about GSD Search and Rescue ("So That Others May Live") and fell in love. I wanted to learn about this breed and have one for myself one day.

I reached out to a local rescue and volunteered. On my first day, I signed papers, took a training at an adoption event, walked a few dogs and, like a dog lover, fell in love with one of them, a 3 y/o male, purebred GSD. The only thing I knew about the dog was that he was an owner surrender (deployment) and the family was uncomfortable or not equipped to take care of him. And he was gorgeous. We "connected", just sitting under the shade on our walk. It was hard for me to send him back to the kennel at the end of the adoption event. I said I would foster him. (I had never been a foster, never owned a GSD).