German Shepherds Forum banner

Beginner here!! Need help

1K views 9 replies 9 participants last post by  David Winners 
#1 ·
Hello my name is Bryan and I recently got a German shepherd named strypher it is a girl I know strypher sounds like a boy name but I gave my lil brother the privilege to name her and that's what he chose plus I really like it. I'm a regular college student for New York that just love dogs. This isn't my first puppy but it will be the first puppy I actually take care of alone lol. So I'll take any of the help or tips I can receive please everyone :) . For one she is 6 weeks pure and just came home with me 2 days ago. Her owner was giving her iams right when I picked her up I stopped at petco to get her the blue buffalo co. For puppy obviously. I got that one because literally everyone but one person recommended that also I did my research. So as soon as I'm home the puppy poops n her feces is wet and like slimy so I'm starting to think its diarrhea ? Idk I'm very lost. Also when I started feeding her the new dried food it continue and she looks like she is constipated :( can anyone tell me what I should do I'm going to the vet tomorrow.

#3 ·
When you switch foods you gotta do it gradually, unless you want diarrhea. Like, over a two week period. But, it's really good you're going to the vet tomorrow, because there are lots more, way scarier, reasons she could be having diarrhea, and you want to rule those out. 6 weeks is super young to come home, so you need to be *extra* careful :)

Have you clicked the "forums" link yet? There are tons of excellent new puppy threads there. Start at the top with the stickies and read all you can!

And congrats on your pup!! Take pics and post :) Most of us are suckers for puppies here, lol!!

Sent from Petguide.com Free App

#4 ·
Congratulations on your new puppy. Dont forget shots and no walking out doors until shes vaccinated. Theres lots of experienced people here so if you have questions just ask.

#6 ·