German Shepherd Dog Forums - View Single Post - Obedience training help!
View Single Post
Old 01-13-2014, 10:52 AM   #1 (permalink)
cwams

Default Obedience training help!

So let me give everyone a rundown about my Gsd before I get any answers.
I have a 3 1/2 year old female intact pure german shepherd. I rescued her in November of 2013 from a sad situation. Her owners couldn't afford her and she was very malnourished. She weighed 50lbs and didn't even have strength to jump into my car (which is a small hatchback and not high off the ground) Lola is very loving, she jumped right up and licked me when I went to pick her up, and she is the sweetest girl. I got her on some good grain free food as the previous owners said she had stomach issues and they couldn't find a good food for her (I personally don't think they could afford anything other than what she was being fed) and she has put on a healthy 15lbs since I got her. I took her to my work (I'm a vet assistant) and she was given all her shots and unfortunately diagnosed with heart worms but thankfully she didn't have the actual disease so it was easily treatable. Ever since the day I got her Lola has listened well, I was able to let her off the leash not even 24hours after having her and she would come to me when called. And if she was doing something she wasn't supposed to I could give a command (which is hard to explain in writing but it's kinda like your saying "at" but more emphasis on the a and a lot more drawn out) and she would immediately stop and come to me. But now after having her for a few months I am trying to teach her manners and obedience which she was never taught before. She will sit when told and she kind of knows down but when I give her the down command I have my hand palm down and I lower it to the ground and she will lay but then she immediately will lay flat on her side and lick my hand and twist and roll. I can't even attempt the stay command, she will just get up every time I go to step