German Shepherd Dog Forums - View Single Post - Student Vent Thread
View Single Post
Old 12-30-2013, 05:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
angelas
Elite Member

Default Student Vent Thread

Alright, we all know students get frustrated. Here's a safe place to do a bit of venting. If you be high school or university, let it rip here.

I'll start. I'm in second year through a tech school two year program that is transferable to a university program, I hope, if I maintain a 65% average. Last year I finished with an 82% average. This last year has been ridiculous.

First annoyance was not having all instructors hired before classes started. We got our Auditing instructor lined up in the second week of classes. He spoke a mile a minute in a foreign accent that no one understood, refused to provide written lecture notes, refused to give assignment outlines before they were due or advise where he was lecturing from in the text book and refused to acknowledge the female students in the class (which was 5 out of 7). I didn't complain because life isn't always fair. Took the midterm, got a 46%. While reviewing it with the answer key found several points that I believed should have been marked as correct. Thankfully the program head agreed with me upon regrading and awarded me a 56%. All the other marks in the class rose by 5-14% as well. Issues continued and the entire class complained to our coordinator about this instructor. Eventually the program head agreed to finish marking the semester or allowed us to withdraw with full refund and a Withdrawl mark instead of a Withdraw/Fail on our transcript up until the morning before the final. I chose to write the final. We will see if I pass the class. On the second last lecture day (after finding out he would not be marking any more) our instructor assigned a group, oral presentation due next class. Lovely, since we had already done the required one (poorly). The class refused to do it.