German Shepherds Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

Ecollars help

8K views 76 replies 19 participants last post by  sparra 
#1 ·
I just bought e collars for max to fix his minor inside home behavior. I introduced him with #2 stimulation and it seems like he got an idea that when i give him a command he better do it or he'll get shocked. i have no experience with e collars and i am just affraid that using this will make Max scare of things that i dont want him to do. any advise on how to use this device and your experience will really appreciate. i dont want to use this device this everyday because i love max to death and i feel like i am actually huring him or his feeling everytime i shock him. please help!!!

#2 ·
I'm going to move this thread to the training section:)

#3 ·
Hi there. I just started ecollar per my trainer's suggestion. Watching Michael Ellis videos on ecollar (3 part series online) and also reviewing the recall video by Michael Ellis where there's a brief section on ecollar helped me. You can do a search for it or let me know if you want me to look up the links.

I use mine everyday on our walks. My dog's feelings are not hurt because of it. She is still her happy-bouncy-walking-with-a-song-in-her-heart self on the walks and gets that the ecollar stims are just a signal for her to do something and better do it because I will follow up even at a distance. It also helped me tremendously with timing issues when working long distance. Today during our off leash walk, after reinforcing her long distance behaviors multiple times (mainly "leave it" and don't-you-dare-go-chase-that-invisible-thing) with ecollar I got the best ever "front" where it was fast and furious with a very tight finish. I didn't stim her to get the front, but just saying, she wasn't depressed by the ecollar and can be amped up for training still. If used right, the dog won't see it as a torture tool, just as an extension of your magical control over the dog. =)