German Shepherds Forum banner

Finally figured it out!!

1K views 7 replies 6 participants last post by  Candace 
#1 ·
I have been training my white GSD in obedience every Sunday for 3 yrs now. She has always done reasonably well but doesn't have the right temperament for agility so I was hoping to trial in obedience and get our CCD title and go from there.
This year she really started mucking up at training. Her sits went to crap, I've been having to "handbrake" her to stop and recalls were a mess!

Last week watching hubby walk her I watched him put her through her paces ( he only walks the woofies has never trained or taken them to doggy school) and I discovered its him!! He's allowing her to do half assed recalls and do whatever because at least she's doing it ( he said).
So now I have to try to train hubby and retrain the dog! Us married folk know how hard it will be to teach my hubby lol
I have decided that with the new pup ( we're purchasing for a new loved addition but also for me to trial with) he will train on Sundays and I will do the midweek training. I'm not having this continue especially not with a potential show dog.
Needless to say hubby was less then impressed when we had this discussion lol.
End of my little rant

Sent from my iPhone using PG Free

See less See more
#3 ·
I always have to remind my hubby not to use my obedince commands for household obedience unless he is going to enforce it. Like Lydi-- He will tell her down and stay and then ignore her. After a while she gets up and wanders away. What is she learning?

I ask him to just tell her lie down and do not ask her to stay. Lie down means settle for while in our house. Down/Stay means the long down in obed.

Yes, the hubby is harder to train. I have done this with every dog and he does not remember from dog to dog.

#5 ·