German Shepherds Forum banner

Hello from a newbie!!

591 views 6 replies 4 participants last post by  Corvus Laeus 
#1 ·
Hello GS forum!

My name is David and I'm from Cary, NC. I am a current online MBA student with ECU and work for a local pharma outfit in Durham, NC.

I joined as I am looking to soak up all of the knowledge and information I can surrounding owning and properly caring for a GSD. Though I've never owned one, I have always known it was the breed for me. Loyal, intelligent, athletic, protective, and noble (I'm sure you all know :p). Always been amazed by their working roots and how versitile they are in the many roles they play for rescue, armed forces, etc.

I was raised with miniature Schnauzers and my sister worked for the AKC for a stint. She currently has a Lab/Pitt mix and a big ol Bulldog :p (3 cats also :rolleyes:)

Can't wait to meet some of you and continue to learn more about what I may be getting myself into. I'm still on the fence about rescuing (Have noticed there are several nice GSD recues in the NC area) or starting off with a puppy. I am reading up on several books (Monks of New Skete, The Power of Positive Dog Training, The Other End of the Leash) and would appreciate any further reading recommendations as well :D

See less See more
#2 ·
Welcome ...

Further reading? HMMM, I would suggest you read every single thread on this forum ... then when you're done, you'll be completely confused, and go and buy a hamster!!!

Adopt or get a puppy. It all depends on what you are looking, the level of commitment / training / time you can provide, etc.

The pros to adopting an "older" dog (i.e. older than 9 months) is that you can already see some of the dog coming out, dog is likely (hopefully) house broken, and maybe crate trained. The cons - it might have issues that you need to work out.