German Shepherds Forum banner

Breeding a WL to a SL?

7K views 35 replies 22 participants last post by  PupperLove 
#1 ·
is it bad, good or indifferent?

#3 ·
I'm no expert but I'll be brave enough to throw my two cents in.

I think there could be benefits, like Robin mentioned if you have two great dogs and the only "issue" would be one is SL and the other WL then I don't see how it could hurt

On the other hand, they are both bred for entirely different reasons so would most compliment each other, probably not.

Personally I like keeping the lines separate, but if the right dog came along I would definitely be open to the possibility

JMOFWIW

#14 ·
On the other hand, they are both bred for entirely different reasons so would most compliment each other, probably not.
Personally I like keeping the lines separate, but if the right dog came along I would definitely be open to the possibility

I don't understand this and probably never will. To see the breed reach a point where people actually expect and accept that the show lines are going to be totally different from the working lines (and vice versa) seems very wrong.
It's one thing to acknowledge the differences on a dog by dog basis, but to ignore the possiblity that a good show line might be the perfect compliment to a good working line because we don't want to see the lines mixed makes no sense on any level. Keeping the lines separate only widens the gap in the breed and diminishes their ability to be total dogs. IMHO

#4 ·